One of the first experimental projects I did this semester was based upon the ideas of texture and water. Last year I created abstract photos of water, and to build upon this I used a mirror and glass outliner in order to create a stark outline of the pattern created by one of the photos, showing the undulating waves of water from a stream. The reflective surface of the mirror, whilst a hard and unforgiving surface, creates the essence of water through its reflective nature. Overall the piece was quite decorative and interesting.

The other two experimental pieces I created based on water and texture were made with acrylic paint and palette knives. I used the paint thickly in the multicoloured piece, layering each colour over the other before scraping it off and layering it elsewhere. The blue piece was much looser, as I let thick layers of paint stay and dry, creating a relief piece.

